>I went for a solo walk this morning while Alex was napping. It’s lovely when the air is a bit cooler, especially knowing how fast it will heat up and the heat to come this summer.
As I was stumbling along the path toward the garden, I heard a noise ahead of me. A tiny fawn, no bigger than my dog, rushed out from where it had been resting, around the garden, and ran through the side yard across the front yard and down the road. That will teach me to be a bit more stealthy and observant as I walk or I might have caught a great picture of the little guy. This afternoon, I saw two more deer over there and I couldn’t help but wonder if it was a mama looking for her little one.

I was surprised to see my first morning glory peeking out from the seeds that I planted at the base of an old trellis left on the property. I was hesitant, knowing how aggressive and hard to control they are from an experience in Chicago but I admit, I’m impatient and don’t want to wait 3-4 years for a slower vine to grow enough to cover the trellis.

I caught this little guy climbing in the garden- see them everywhere and was on a caterpillar hunt unitl I looked them up and saw it is the larvel stage of the monarch butterfly. So thrive with my blessing, little yellow and black bugger. And eat lots of my weeds!!

Exploring around in my veggie garden, I saw my first tomatilla has come out. This is my first experience growing these and I’m excited to get some recipes to use them in. They are like little paper balloons and the fruit grows inside. They are ripe when the paper husk turns brown. Like getting a little present to open.

I know I posted about prickly pears last time, but they’re so visually stunning that I can’t help myself. We have all of these types naturally growing around the property. They just root wherever you might throw a leaf. But I found two side by side that illustrate some of the varieties. I personally love the spineless for obvious reasons. Here is a picture of the soft spines that come out and then disappear later to leave just the flat pads of the cactus. Below that is a picture of one that has spines. Both beautiful.

2 thoughts on “

  1. >Hi Kiss of Sun [or would you prefer Mama J?], As another Blogspot user I’m also able to comment. Pam saw you on Stuart’s map – and now I see you have us linked! How lovely!You’ve managed to grow strawberries, bulbine and get flowers on the Prickly Pear, none of which I have accomplished so far. If you google Monarch larva images you’ll see they’re easily confused with Swallowtails. You’re right – the Monarchs do need milkweeds, so from the colors and the fuzzy umbel form of what’s left of the flower, my guess is that this is a swallowtail caterpillar. Maybe the plant is some reseeded member of the dill & Fennel family? Welcome to the Austin Garden Blogging world~Annie at the Transplantable Rose

Leave a Reply

