>Random gardening intelligence

>Did some volunteer time at the Master Gardeners phone desk today helping out callers who have problems with gardening. I always learn so much over there, researching questions. Some random thoughts from today:

Large amounts of rain has affected so much in the garden this year. Veggies (like melons) are not developing their usual sweetness. Trees that have done well for years are having a tough time with the large amount of rainfall. Weeds are rampant. In my garden, nutsedge is personally trying to take over the entire flower garden. I pull and pull and pull and it keeps coming back. Here is a great article giving tips on taking care of nutsedge.

St. Augustine grass is experiencing all kinds of problems that maybe are not typical for this time of year. Here is a great paper by James McAfee at TX A&M on some of these issues and how to treat them.

As always, lots of questions about the right time to fertilize, do weed control, etc. Important tip- weed and feed is not recommended, as the time to fertilize is rarely the time to apply weed control and much of it runs off into our water tables and into springs/aquifers, etc. Don’t be afraid to inquire with your lawn maintenace company about the amount they are fertilizing, Mine was way over-fertilizing until I talked to him and told him what I wanted based on articles from the extension office.

Anywa, those are my random thoughts for the morning. More rain in store from us today from Tropical Storm Erin, and then even more rain next week possible as Hurricane Dean comes closer. Don’t mind the break in 100 degree temps and I love using the rain delay on my sprinkler system. Does anyone else just smile and feel great when they hit that delay button like I do??

2 thoughts on “>Random gardening intelligence

  1. >I would smile and feel great if I had a delay button to hit. Alas, no sprinkler system graces my garden. But not having to drag the hoses around right now does, in fact, bring a smile to my face.That’s interesting about the unusual difficulties that all our rain has caused. I would never have guessed that trees would be suffering from too much rain, but yes, the weeds are rampant in my garden too.

  2. >There’s no sprinkler here, either, Bonnie – just hoses – and the lawn maintenance company is me. The lawn gets some hand weeding, a little TerraTonic or Medina once in a blue moon, and I don’t touch products like Weed’n’Feed. It appears we live in very different worlds when it comes to lawn ;-]The call-in radio shows were loaded with calls about trees, shrubs and perennials in trouble from too much rain. Pam’s cedar elm has small leaves – the larger leaved trees grew huge canopies but can no longer get enough water up to the leaves and the trees are cutting the leaves loose, scaring the heck out of people. Annie at the Transplantable Rose

Leave a Reply

