>November Bloom Day

>I am frantically getting back in action after my sick leave to post for Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day where bloggers from all over post what is in bloom in their garden.

Let’s start by saying that here in Austin, we have been having unseasonably warm weather, up in the 80s. Until yesterday, when at 4pm, a front blew in and took our temps down to the 40s last night and a high of 70 today. Don’t get me wrong, I am not complaining. In fact, 70 is perfect for me.

OK, let’s see what we have in the garden.

The vinca are still fighting to hang on, and not having much of a battle with our current weather.

I keep thinking I need to pull them out to “clean up for the fall”, but why when they are still so healthy looking?

A gerbera daisy sending up a lovely red flower

My orange bulbine, still growing strong. But really, does it ever stop blooming?

A yellow climber rose that I inherited with the house, not sure what it is, but it blooms almost non-stop. Smells very lemony. If you know what it might be, please let me know.

Chinese fringe flower, not blooming , but I just love this plant for the fall colors it puts out. I mean, there must be a dozen colors of leaves on this plant. Just gorgeous. I had my son and niece pick leaves from this plant and do leaf art this last week.

The fountain grasses, still showing off their plumes.

The star of the show right now is the Mexican Mint Marigold, splashing yellow blooms all across my flower bed in front.
I have it matched up with purple verbena and they seem to like each other.

Yaupon holly already has a ton of berries all over, many of which I will cut to weave in our xmas wreathes.

My Texas Sage put on a surprise show this last week. Nothing like the one in September
but still a nice addition with the lavender against the blue-green foliage.

My buttercream lantana continues to bloom in the driveway bed. I just love the pale yellow blooms in contrast to the louder colors of other lantanas. I know, some don’t like lantana, but I find it to be such a reliable bloomer and so deer resistant, that I like to grow it in the quieter colors like white and pale yellow.

My Mexican Oregano that I put in this summer when we had so much rain is still blooming. Another deer resistant plant and prolific bloomer, I have seen this in my neighborhood growing as giant shrubs. Mine are still itty bitty, but they always seem to have blooms. And I love the smell.

And the stalks of the Gulf Muehly are still just plain gorgeous. A luscious, smoky sight to greet me whenever I drive in or out of our driveway.

And finally, one thing that is NOT growing in my garden…the grass that I killed to create a new bed.
This is a side yard rarely used (although it was the sight for my “Bugs in the Garden” photo shoot). It’s dead, dead, dead. I’m going to just plant a lot of native, low-maintenance plants here. A question to all of you- can I just leave the grass dead on top instead of tilling and covering with newspaper? My thought is that the dead grass would act to stop any weed seeds from germinating and slowly decompose. Is there any danger that it will come alive again?

11 thoughts on “>November Bloom Day

  1. >That settles it: I think you Austin gardeners have carried off the honors for this month’s Bloom Day. How wonderful that you still have so much beauty to enjoy, even at this late date. Your yellow rose is stunning, regardless of its identity (or lack thereof), and your shot of Yaupon holly is particularly pretty. (That’s a plant we don’t often see here in PA.) Thanks so much for sharing your garden!

  2. >Maybe the rose’s name is “Should be in my yard” – what a great looking rose, Bonnie! The pale yellow lantana would be welcome here, too, but growing bulbine is beyond me.I’ve no advice on the new bed – we’ve always dug up green grass to make beds. Surely someone else will know what you should do next. Annie at the Transplantable Rose

  3. >Once again Bonnie after seeing all these lovely blossoms in your garden it makes me want to move to Austin this time of year. As to your grass…I would turn it all under. There will be some rotten little sprouts here and there. They just are survivors.And you have a climbing rose that climbs and blooms. AAarrrrhGlad to see you are back in action.

  4. >Your yellows have wowed me, Bonnie, starting with that yellow rose, continuing with the mint marigold, and right up to the “buttercream” (yum!) lantana.I’ve never left grass in place either, so I don’t know what will happen. I do know that grass always seems to find a way though. You know, like Jeff Goldblum says in Jurassic Park? And not in a good way when you’re trying to create a new bed. On the other hand, you could experiment with part or all of the space and see what happens.

  5. >Welcome back and it is good to read that everyone is feeling better. You’ve got a lot of bloom going on in your garden. Austin, indeed, is the epi-center of blooms this November!Carol at May Dreams Gardens

  6. >You still have some nice blooms! I love the vinca. I grew it years ago and forgot what a handsome plant it was…. I will have to try it again.

  7. >Lovely blooms and grasses in your garden for GBBD. Love that pretty rose, can’t help you with the name though. My blooms are up too if you’re interested.I see that you’re going to enjoy yourself soon creating a new flower border! Have fun!

  8. >What a lot in bloom in Austin! Love all of your pictures but that Muehly grass is just gorgeous! As for leaving your grass and not tilling it in, I think it will decompose faster and add more organic matter tilled in but as Pam says, experiment! It does take quite a while for the stems and roots of grass to disintegrate but less if you cover them with newspaper and then add a layer of organic compost. It would be a good lesson for all of us no matter what you do!

  9. >I always find it hard to pull out plants like the vinca if they still look good. Maybe that’s why my garden is never as neat and tidy as I’d like.I keep telling myself I’m going to get some bulbine. It seems like a tough little plant.Your Mexican mint marigold is really stunning.

  10. >Hi Bonnie,Thanks for the tour of your lovely November blooms. That yellow rose of Texas is awesome !I miss the long growing season we had back home in ‘Bama. ‘

Leave a Reply

