>Figs, glorious figs!

>
The newest addition to my yard is a Celeste fig. I planted it about two weeks ago after coveting the figs appearing around town at nurseries. When the article on figs appeared on the cover of Texas Gardener magazine, I knew it was a sign. I finally plunked $20 down for an attractive sapling with growth on many shoots and brought it home.

I never thought it would be so tough to find a good spot. But I needed sun and irrigation. I had a great spot back to the side of my septic field with full sun all the time, but I couldn’t get any irrigation on a regular schedule back there and hauling a hose constantly back and forth seemed silly. I finally decided on a spot on the other side, just off the grass line and just out of the drip line of a big live oak. It gets full sun in the morning and late afternoon and I hope that will prove to be enough. And the lawn sprinklers will give it regular water.

I remember picking figs when I was growing up from a tree somewhere in my childhood, although I can’t rememeber by which of the many houses I lived in it might have been. But I hope to create some memories for my children of the beauty of picking fruit right at home and savoring that warm sweetness right off the tree.

Posted by Picasa
4 thoughts on “>Figs, glorious figs!

  1. >Mine’s a Celeste too, Bonnie – it was pretty small when I planted it and didn’t do much at first but really took off last summer. Figs don’t grow in the North so I have no childhood memories -apparently they made quite an impression on you! Annie at the Transplantable Rose

  2. >Good luck with your fig. I have ordered one for the first time, Petite Black, from Parks, haven’t received it yet. We are close to its northern limit so we shall see if it lives or ever fruits. I love the leaves even if we don’t get any figs. Frances at Faire Garden

  3. >When my husband was a little boy living in Brooklyn they had a fig tree in their yard (and that was about it). I’ve asked him if he wants one here but he couldn’t care less. Like Frances, we’re at the northern most area and figs take lots of work with burlaping and such during the winter so I guess I’ll just have to read posts about other gardeners figs.

Leave a Reply

