>Garden Bloggers March Bloom Day

>I’ve been eagerly awaiting this Bloom Day post to link to Carol at May Dreams Gardens since I finally feel I have a critical mass of blooms to show off. This last month has really kicked my garden in the butt to get growing and it has responded. But there is so much to be done for getting these plants strong before the stress of summer.

Here we go.

The crabapple in the back has burst out with it’s beautiful burgundy and green leaves. This tree has done so very well since we planted it 2 years ago. I look forward to many years of joy from it.


My climbing rose has really started in on spring blooming now, although I must admit that it never really stops, just slows down briefly. This one I inherited with the house and have been search for type of rose forever. While volunteering at the Master Gardener phone desk the other day, I was perusing rose books and I think I found it. “Golden Showers”. Yes, I agree, a little odd of a name. But perhaps not as odd when it was named back in 1956. One of the first successful yellow climbers and quite the award winner back in her day (AARS 1957, Portland Gold Medal 1957, Royal Horticultural Society Award of Garden Merit 1993 )


This bird found a wonderful perch amid my yaupon berries. I was working below the tree when I heard her beautiful call and used my cameras zoom to catch her (thus, the blurriness)


The bloom of the prickly pear cactus


and the “bloom” of an unknown cactus


Verbena just starting out again


Texas Mountain Laurel with it’s Grape Bubblegum smell permeating the air


One of our pears. This one has been fighting off deer and one deer must have actually run into it as we found the entire tree practically lying on its side and the bark scraped off all around the lower trunk. We’re since protected with a cage.


Bulbine going full-speed ahead. One of my favorite plants. Tough as nails and a gorgeous green and orange combination. Also available in yellow.


Bloggers, help me. This is a new vine I planted this winter and forgot to write down in my notebook. Anyone know what it is? Honeysuckle? Ugh, I hate when this happens. I’m sure when the bloom opens I’ll know in a minute.


My dwarf pomegranate, giving me an “almost bloom”


The camellia, still showing me the love after 2 months of blooms.


Cross vine growing on the trellis


And the Chinese fringe plant, lovely because it makes me think of a Mexican Fiesta with it’s flowers popping out

In the vegetable garden:

My peas climbing up their trellis


My chard growing


Strawberries returning from runners put out by last years plants. Jack is anxiously awaiting this crop.

And to end my parade

a ladybug hiding as I try to get her picture

23 thoughts on “>Garden Bloggers March Bloom Day

  1. >Those ladybugs can be camera shy, can’t they? Your garden does look like it has a lot of bloom in it. Can I eat those peas? They are so good right out of the garden.I’m kind of sad that I will miss the Texas mountain laurels blooming, even though I’ll be in Texas in 3 weeks!Thanks for joining in for bloom day again!Carol, May Dreams Gardens

  2. >I am jealous you have roses already. Here in south Arkansas, I will have to wait a few more weeks. Love the Texas mountain laurels – I wish your post was scratch-n-sniff!

  3. >WOw what a blog post full of photos. I feel for your pear trees, I planted some small bare root trees this winter and went to check in on them today when low and behold something dug up or pulled under my redbud.

  4. >I know exactly how you feel about “critical mass”. March is the big month in my garden, too, and things will be nice for the next six weeks or so and then it’s back to the boring struggle.So you kept your strawberry plants alive through last summer, eh? I was told that in Austin we should just consider them annuals and pull them out after the spring harvest. (This is the first year I’ve tried them.) Of course, last summer was unusually wet and cool.

  5. >I am pretty sure that the ‘unknown cactus’is a Christmas cactus – Cylindropuntia leptocaulis. I have a small one in my garden.

  6. >Hi Bonnie. Thanks for stopping by our blog. Just came over to return the visit. I’ve seen the mountain laurel on several of the Austin blogs. It’s just stunning. Loved the hiding ladybug! You commented on the leopard’s bane photo on our blog–I had no idea it would come back and it was blooming with the crocuses! I learned that it’s the earliest blooming daisy like flower–and it’s good for boils too! Curmudgeon

  7. >I’m so glad I found your blog – thanks for visiting mine.. You’ve got so many lovely plants blooming in your garden! That yellow climbing rose is beautiful and the camellia… wow! I would love to see your pomegranate when it blooms – I started a plant from a seed last summer, and it’s now growing in my heated verandah. It’s problably not a dwarf though, so I might never see its flowers…/Katarina (Roses and stuff)

  8. >It’s always fun to come and look at the southern plants that I can’t grow. I keep wondering if I could try my luck with a Loropetalum, and seeing yours blooming makes me think I should.

  9. >Lovely, really lovely. Is there any chance you can capture the fragrance from your Texan Mountain Laurel so I can enjoy it at Spring Fling!? It is wonderful to visit other bloggers who have lost track of the names of their plants, makes me feel much better!See you in April.Gailclay and limestone

  10. >I’m with Kay: I wish we could have scratch-and-sniff blogs! Pity this poor northern gardener for her ignorance: I’ve never even heard of Texas mountain laurel, let alone smelled one. And I can’t help but think that your loropetalums are a tad prettier than our witch hazels.

  11. >That’s a good picture of the ladybug’s legs ;)Everytime I see garden photos from you lucky Austiners, I feel pangs of jealousy. You also have interesting plants that we can’t grow here so it’s of great interest to me if we decide to move to that part of the country in a few years.

  12. >That may not be The Yellow Rose of Texas, but it’s a beautiful yellow Rose in Texas. Your woody plant blooms are all so lovely, too bad about the deer attacks. Caging trees – you do what you gotta do.

  13. >Austin must be the capital city of Texas Mountain Laurels! Yours is just beautiful. I assume that your pear is an ornamental pear??? Or is it edible? Thanks for the pictures

  14. >I am guess ing your unknown is a honeysuckle, from the leaves. Thanks for the great show! and thanks for stopping by my blog.

  15. >Wonderful blooms, Bonnie. I can’t think of the name of that vine but I was looking at it in the nursery just last week. Thanks – now you’re gonna keep me awake trying to remember it tonight! I also loved your little green shoot peeking out. I posted some of mine and just get so excited about them! I’ve completely given up on Rock Rose – the deer ate mine to the ground 3 times last year and it succumbed and I FINALLY learned and just pass it by in the nurseries. It’s just too tasty and I have no appropriate place for it in deer-proof yard areas. Your prickly pear photos are cool, too!

  16. >Hi Bonnie, Your choice of ‘critical mass’ was the right term! What a blend of Texas standards like the bulbine, yaupon, cactus and Mountain Laurel with plants that aren’t supposed to grow here like crabapples and camellias! If your garden is the expression of your personality you must be a lot of fun ;-]Maybe Entangled should try the Loropetalum – Mary of Mary’s View has then in NC… but they’re called Chinese Witch Hazels up there. Google Cylindropuntia or Opuntia leptocaulis and see if it looks like your skinny armed cactus…we had some growing on the slope behind the other house. Annie at the Transplantable Rose

  17. >I’m very excited about planting this month! I finally have my own place to plant in since we moved into a condo last fall. I’m hoping to plant tons of flowers that attract hummingbirds and butterflies, and as I’ve done my research about such plants I’ve noticed that most of them say, “Deer Tend to Avoid” So I was thinking, maybe if you plant these kinds of flowers around your pear tree, the deer will stay away . . .? Anyway, your garden is lovely! Have a wonderful spring!

Leave a Reply

