>September-Let the Gardening Resume

>The heat and drought really killed my desire to be out in the garden, but I feel some revival of my gardening passion with the small rains we have had in the past week and the knowledge that summer is coming to an end. Perusing my Texas Gardener for September, I can see I have my work cut out for me.

-Go veggies. Time to plant for the fall. September in Central Texas means planting Snap Bush Beans, Broccoli, Cabbage, Brussel Sprouts, Cauliflower, Cucumbers, Kohlrabi, Potatoes and summer squash. My tomatoes that I cut back by half in August are going gangbusters in growth and will hopefully set fruit as temps at night cool down. And I’ll be adding compost before planting and mulch after planting.

-Haircuts for everyone-I’ll cut back any summer bloomers that are looking tired or leggy to encourage a new bloom cycle.

-Spray my St. Augustine to prevent brown patch that might occur with the cooler temps. I had this the past few years until I fired my lawn man and began treating it on my own. I went organic.

-Make a list of plants I want to move. I’ll wait to do the dividing or transplanting until slightly cooler temps in late month or early October.

Geez, I had better clear my schedule to make room for my gardening.

3 thoughts on “>September-Let the Gardening Resume

  1. >I have a list of plants to move too. The rain and hint of cooler weather is going to have all the Austin gardeners champing at the bit to get back out there.

  2. >I know what you mean. I was at the Natural Gardener on Sunday buying some 1 gallons to fill holes I’ve just been to hot and tired to bother with for the last few months! I’m ready to make my Fall list and post it to make sure I get it done!

  3. >I seem to be saying this a lot lately, but I don’t veg garden so your list seems incredible to me! I always thought one planted some cold hardy vegies and that was it! What’s the coldest your winter weather will get?gail

Leave a Reply

