>September 2008 Bloom Day

> Lots going on in the garden, especially with the cooler weather we have been enjoying. Supposed to be in the 80s all week here and going into the 50s tonight. The ac is officially turned off. Yea!!!! (at least for this week.) I find myself more willing to stroll around both day and evening because I’m not perspiring the momeent I step out the door. And that means my plants get more attention.

The Mexican Bush sage is putting out some beautiful spikes right now. It blooms along with zinnia, Grapes of Gomphrena, canna lily, the roses, and my buttercream lantana.

All 3 of my gerbera daisies have come back this year, but only the red one has sent up a flower. Dang, these guys are high-maintenance. And finally, a picture of my passion flower- which for some inexplicable reason has turned from a purple passion flower two years ago into a pink passion flower. That’s OK, I can roll with that.

Veggie garden is looking good, just see my previous post. Tomatoes, eggplants and sprouts of squash , cucumbers and Malabar spinach are all there. But something is sneaking in and eating my newly sprouted seeds so I may have to do an evening recon to see if I can catch the offender.

Hope all is well in your garden.

Posted by Picasa
9 thoughts on “>September 2008 Bloom Day

  1. >So, Bonnie, what are you doing with that Malabar spinach? I have bushels and bushel of it taking over my whole garden. I’m at a loss!!!! help~~~

  2. >Odd for me to think of gerbera daisies coming back each year. “Up here”, we generally treat them as an annuals, and most people plant them in containers. Happy to hear it is finally cooling down for you, and you can actually enjoy your garden.Thanks for joining in for bloom day!Carol, May Dreams Gardens

  3. >Hi Bonnie, your Passion flower is lovely. Enjoy your cool weather to the fullest. Its almost two months before winter sets in my part of the world.Best Wishes

  4. >Diana-Eat that Malobar spinach! Here’s a good website describing its use and an excerpt. The succulent leaves and stem tips are rich in vitamins A and C and are a good source of iron and calcium. They may be eaten raw in salads, boiled, steamed, stir-fried, or added to soups, stews, tofu dishes, and curries. Or you can use them as a filling for quiche, omelets, savory turnovers, and potpies. Since red-stemmed Malabar spinach can lose a lot of its red color when cooked, perhaps it is best utilized (visually speaking) in raw dishes.

  5. >It tickles me when we are all excited that the temperatures are in the 80s and we turn off the ac…even here in Nashville where we have had temps in the 90s until recently! The sage is spectacular Gail

Leave a Reply

