>Lemon Drop, anyone?

>No. not the alcoholic drink. Geez, you gardeners are a bunch of lushes! Oh wait, maybe that’s just the Austin garden bloggers. No. I’m pretty sure it’s all of us.

Anyway, I had an impulse citrus buy today. I was swinging through Lowe’s totally wasting time before my dentist appt by browsing plants. And they had lemon trees. I have always wanted one. But they have this one called “Lemon Drop” and it is a cross between a kumquat and a lemon. I love kumquats [then why don’t you just buy a kumquat tree?????? I know, I know. what can I say, lemons sounded so….culinary.]

So I bought one. Says they are cold hardy. But I can not find any other information about them online. Frustrating. Anyone out there seen or have this kind of tree???

18 thoughts on “>Lemon Drop, anyone?

  1. >Never heard of lemon drop. Maybe it is a new variety for pots. Citrus are lots of fun. The more common one for pots is Improved Meyer. Look out for this variety because the lemons are outstanding. You never see them in the store because they don’t travel well being thin skinned. I love having the pots in the house over the winter because they start producing flowers in the late winter and the fragrance in the house is outstanding.

  2. >Bonnie – I’ve not heard of this one, but I do have a lemon tree in the ground that is FULL of variegated lemons almost ready to pick, so they can grow here. I do nothing to it in the winter – it’s hearty all on its own. Good luck – call us when you make lemonade!

  3. >What do you do with the kumquats, Bonnie? They look so cute in the store. Have you seen the citrus at the Plantfolks site? There are lemonquats, limequats and Yuzuquats! Sometimes I suspect that Diana’s garden is half-a-zone warmer than mine because I lose plants that don’t freeze in her part of town. I have one Meyer’s Lemon that I bring in when it’s cold and one in the ground against the south house wall. Good luck with your new citrus baby! Annie at the Transplantable Rose

  4. >We got the same tree from Lowes last summer and took it inside when it got cold outside.The fruit finealy is getting ripe.Ireally dont know when to pick them.I wonder if they would make a good lemon pie.

  5. >I have a lemon drop tree that I bought from Home Depot at the beginning of the summer. The fruits are starting to get ripe. I ate my first one this past weekend. To me, it tasted like a cross between an orange and a grapefruit, a little sweet, a little bitter, but tasty.

  6. >I have a LemonDrop Lemon plant I purchased from Home Depot around mid summer. It is about 16″ tall and produced 16 avg to small size lemons. The whole lemon (peeling and all) is eatable. They are quiet tasty having a lemon/orange flavor. It was easy to grow this summer but have moved it in my greenhouse this winter. Wish I had purchased two.

  7. >My lemon drop tree dropped leaves as it wintered over inside in a pot. I know better about leaves & messed with them, leaving them on top of the pot. Now the green leaves have spots of white fuzzy stuff on them..mold. Any ideas on what to spray them with? I am thinking black tea, vinegar or garlic water with detergent? Serves me right. I know better.

  8. >I have one that I bought this summer from Home Depot, but there is very little info out there. Mine is full of ripened fruit now. Today I tasted one for the very first time, and I just loved it. It is very much like a tart kumquat. I am glad I bought it.

  9. >I got this response from Hines Nursery on the Lemon Drop tree: CITRUS-FORTUNELLA LEMON-DROP Plant Description: Evergreen tree to 15′ with equal spread. Yellow fruit similar to the lemon. Can be picked and used when rind is green. Zone: 9 One of the non-thorny variety of lemon trees is ‘Eureka’, otherwise citrus trees have thorns.These plants have shiny, dark green leaves; scented blossoms; and colorful fruit. They bloom all year and will produce fruits that can take up to a year to ripen. Last year’s fruits often are still on the trees when the new flowers are blooming.WHEN TO PICK: The fruits do not continue ripening after picking, so leave them on the trees until you’re ready to use them.Cheryl K Austin, TX

  10. >I have one. Had it for over a year and would love to have a second one. It produced tons of mild tasting fruit that holds well on the bush. It got through our unseasonably cold Texas winter with fruit in tact. I love it.

  11. >I got one of these trees at Lowes a few years ago and its been a wonderfull fruit tree! Its only going to get about 6 ft tall so they say and its already trippled in hight and is almost 5 ft now. I think this will be the year he hits 6 ft tall.They also tend to be very bushy and has thorns so watch out they pack a punch! This tree has gone through some harsh cold snaps but I normally cover it. Its always snapped back. It had prodused lemon drops most year round actually hehe,

  12. >I have a two-year-old Lemon Drop plant that is nearly five feet all. Quite hardy, it survived last winter's rare freeze in Lake Jackson, TX. I wonder how much taller it will get.

    • Where were you able to buy these trees. Haven’t seen any of them anywhere. How long have you had them
      Please?

  13. I bought two of these great little trees in Temple Texas at Lowes. Mine lived about three years. I’ve looked everywhere for more haven’t been able to find any!!

Leave a Reply

