>Eggplantpalooza

> I admit it, I have a problem. I have too many eggplants. Or I guess I did have a problem until my mom saved me. You see, my family was about to vote me off the island for putting eggplants into too many of our meals. Eggplant parmesan, eggplant curry, eggplant in pasta. Enough already!

But my mom came to my rescue and gave me a taste of Bharta. It’s a really tasty Indian eggplant dip. So now, when I get a good crop, I roast the eggplants (either whole and scrape out the insides or cut them up, roast, then put in food processor), then add tomatoes, onion, turmeric, and lots of other spices. I usually freeze hal and save half for snacking in the fridge. Yummy on crackers or tortilla chips.

Thanks, Mom!
Bharta

2 lbs eggplant
4 medium tomatoes, chopped
2 tbsp + 1 tsp fresh cilantro
2 tsp ground coriander
2 tsp cumin
1 tsp turmeric
1/4 tsp red pepper
1/2 c olive oil
1 tsp garlic
1 tbsp ginger root, minced
1/2 c onion
1 tsp garam masala
1 tsp lemon juice

Wash and dry eggplant and cut hashes in skin. Put in baking dish @ 450 until tender. Put on plate and cut in quarters and scrape pulp out into bowl. Chop pulp coarsely. Discard skin. Combine with chopped tomatoes, 2 tbsp cilantro, coriander, cumin, turmeric, and red pepper (optional). Stir.

In heavy skillet, add 1/2 c olive oil over medium heat. Once hot, add garlic, onion and ginger. Cook and stir for 2 minutes. Add eggplant mixture until liquid from tomatoes is released and evaporated and mixture is thickened. It should stay in place when moved around in pan. Add 1 tsp garam masala, stir. Season with salt if needed. Take off heat and add 1 tsp lemon juice and 1 tsp fresh cilantro. Serve with pita, chips, crackers, tortilla chips, etc.

Posted by Picasa

8 thoughts on “>Eggplantpalooza

  1. >Bharta is a very common dish cooked here in North India. To find its recipe on your blog is such a pleasant surprise and makes me wonder how small this world has become, for good of course.

Leave a Reply

