>What the…

>Do you ever have a plant growing that you have no idea what it is? Let me know if you recognize either of these.

I usually will pull something if it’s not something I purposely panted, but every once in a while I let one go to see what it creates. That happened a few months ago. I strated seeing the usual thistle weeds around the beds, but one of them really stood out, so I let it go. Here’s what the leaves look like.

My thought is that maybe this is a giant sunflower- like a Maximillian variety. I had some of those seeds and planted them around and who knows if I was in a weird mood and planted some right here. That’s the problem with seed insanity- you can’t remember where you put them, you just want to GET THEM IN THE GROUND AND OUT OF MY SEED DRAWER, DAMMIT!

and it kept growing and growing- this is it on the right side. next to ANOTHER crazy big plant that I have no idea what it is.

Here’s the other one up close and it doesn’t look like a sunflower. In fact, there are two of these and the second one is branching out into 4 branches.

(sigh) Seed planting frenzy will come back to haunt you every time.


11 thoughts on “>What the…

  1. >I thought maybe it was liatris, but your leaves look a little coarser than liatris, I think. They looka little coarser than standing cyprus too.

  2. >The one on the left almost looks like an easter lily?! But that would be the tallest one I’ve ever seen! I think your sunflower guess is pretty good on the one on the right. Let us know what happens!

  3. >I think I have the plant on the left, also growing anonymously. I think it must be from some of the free seeds at an MG meeting. Mine looks like it might bloom so maybe we’ll be able to tell then.

  4. >Bonnie, the first one is Wild Lettuce and I’m not sure on the other one. I would pull the wild lettuce up before it forms seed heads so you won’t have them coming up every where. The blooms aren’t much to look at, kinda like a cow thistle

  5. >Had some snapdragon “volunteers” sprout up a couple of weeks ago in the middle of the bearded iris that looked just exactly like the plant on the left.My first thought on the plant on the right was that it was gigantic dandelion.

  6. >I think they are both weeds. Sometimes if you save seeds from hybrids they don’t breed true and this is what you get. I planted some saved seeds of wallflowers and they produced something similar to your plant on the left. very healthy but no virtues.

  7. >I can’t really tell for sure from the picture, but is the second plant a ruellia? I’ve had a few volunteer in my yard over the years. It’s interesting to watch and see, isn’t it?

  8. >I can’t really tell for sure from the picture, but is the second plant a ruellia? I’ve had a few volunteer in my yard over the years. It’s interesting to watch and see, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

