>Can I grow to love pink?

>OK, let’s start with a fact about me. I’m not a pink kind of girl. Never have been.

Always preferred more earthy colors like olive green and brown. Pink was just too outspoken for me. The palest of pinks was something I could tolerate, but never the bubblegum or hot pink.

But it’s hard to avoid pinks in your garden. They have snuck in over the years and surprise me. At first, I wrinkled my nose at them, but now I am intrigued. Some start hot and stay hot. Others fade to a paler shade by bloom’s end.

I’m not a meticulous gardener. If I have a packet of seeds for too long, I’ll just have a seed spreading day and spread them all over the garden. That’s how my hot pink zinnias came to be. They are like a little gaggle of sorority girls, all reaching to be the tallest, shouting, “look at me, look at me.” Zinnias are easy to propagate from seed and will often reseed the next year. My kind of flower, even if they are pink.

And then there is my Peggy Martin rose. My dad and I each bought one after reading her incredible survival story through Hurricane Katrina and subsequent rediscovery and propagation as a fund raiser for the Gulf Coast. She’s a climber. My dad’s is now stretching across his entire arbor. Mine is on a trellis that creates a screen for our air conditioning units. It develops clusters of hot pink blooms in April through May. It repeats its blooming in late summer/fall and mine has just started, perhaps a late response due to the drought. But it will bloom until frost robs it of the pink gems. Very disease resistant and low maintenance.

So while I may not be a pink girl, I have come to love these pinks in my garden that brighten their surroundings, scream to be noticed, survive the inferno that is our Texas summer, and leave me with a smile.


4 thoughts on “>Can I grow to love pink?

  1. >I love your pinks. Pink would be a hard color to stay away from since there are so many pink flowers. It is always surprising as to gardeners tastes in colors.I tend to stay away from the oranges and yellows but I am trying to change and add them in😉

  2. >Those "sorority girls" established a chapter in my garden, too. Old Blush, Cecille Brunner, coral vine, "Country Maid" mums and others have proved the girls can work hard and be beautiful while those about them fade in the heat. I've learned to love them in spite of their girly colors. (vbdb)

  3. >Hello Bonnie,We'd like to notify you that the Austin School Garden Network website has launched and we've included your blog on our blog roll.The Austin School Garden Network is a collaboration of groups, agencies and individuals dedicated to reconnecting children and nature. The purpose is connecting Central Texas community resources to promote the social, nutritional, environmental, and academic benefits of school and youth gardening programs. We have included a local gardening blog section to help new gardeners learn more about gardening in our area.For more information visit our About Us page.http://www.austinsgn.org/about.htmYour blog is linked to from our Gardening Blog page.http://www.austinsgn.org/gardening_blogs.htmIf you would like us to remove the link to your blog from our website please contact, Lisa Anhaiser at laanhaiser[at]ag.tamu.edu.Get growing and keep going!Austin School Garden Network

Leave a Reply

