>Showstopping purple!

>

Click on the picture to get a better view!

This is the view approaching my house- and there’s a little extra oomph tho this view this morning.  That’s because our Cenizo (Texas Sage) on the corner has burst into a vivid display of purple this morning. These bushes are about 10′ tall and a good 25′ across, so it is quite a sight.

I noticed a few days ago that the Cenizos bloom was sneaking up on us.  As I was waiting for Jack’s bus, I saw little white buds all over the bushes.  These bushes usually have a huge bloom around the time we have a big rain, especially if a dry season has preceded it.  Well, we definitely had a downpour thanks to Tropical Storm Hermine (14″) and not much rain prior to that so the conditions were perfect.

I love Cenizos.  Drought tolerant once established, deer resistant, and regular displays of color.  I think we might have a variety called Green Cloud as ours are not as silvery-gray and many that I see around town.  There are also varieties that bloom a bit bluer and some that bloom white.

I convinced my parents to plant some of these in their backyard in Dallas and wouldn’t you know it they were rewarded with blooms just a few weeks later.  A great addition to any Texas landscape!

9 thoughts on “>Showstopping purple!

  1. >That is indeed spectacular! I love cenizos. We have three medium-small ones–can't wait until they're as big and showy as yours.

  2. >oooh!!! i love the new(i am afraid to know when you really changed this–i have NOT been keeping up with my garden blogs…)look of your blog! super cute! i have lots of catching up to do…and now that i don't work saturdays(roars of applause from the audience)i can do fun gardeny stuff with you!

  3. >It really is a beauty. I remember also seeing a beauty when I came round for the cucumber plants in early summer. It was a cholla type cactus in flower. What's with your culvert?

  4. >Gorgeous! My shrubs are stubborn and still small. However, I hope that this next year will be the year they start to take off, having had two solid years in the ground.

Leave a Reply

