>Preschool garden shows off summer glory

>

The preschool garden that I manage is REALLY showing off right now with phenomenal growth and great veggie harvests.You can see here the mexican feather grass with pineapple sage in the background and sunflowers growing on the left.Man, don’t you just want to braid that feather grass?  Gorgeous.

Here’s the center vegetable garden.  Cucumbers growing up the trellis, zucchini in the middle and tomatoes at the end.  We have already started harvesting zucchini and if the kids don’t stay on top of it, we easily end up with 2 foot long zucchinis.    I saw the first of the cucumbers hanging down today- the lovely Japanese variety.

Caterpillars, caterpillars and more caterpillars munching on our bronze fennel.  The more the merrier- the kids love to watch them. 

  Some of our zucchini really taking off.  If the kids wait too long to get there, they can easily grow to club size.  I took one home the other day and baked 48 zucchini muffins out of 1 zucchini.

Pineapple sage with zinnias growing in front.  The pineapple sage has been phenomenal this year, really took off a ton more than last year.  Must have just settled in. 



  
Lambs ear with purple coneflower behind it. 

The lambs ear is just swarming with bees right now as it is flowering. Let’s take a closer look.





When the kids get a little nervous out there about the buzzing, I just have them chant their mantra:  bees are pollinating, bees are pollinating, bees are pollinating.

 A gorgeous stand of purple coneflowers this year.  Some of the preschool girls love to bring these in to their teachers in the morning.  Just fine with me as it keeps the plants producing more. 
 These guys are just fantastic.  But very fast to grow and disappear.  One day I’ll have fifteen of them on there, 3 days later all gone.  Where do these guys go anyway when they go to chrysalis stage? I don’t see them hanging around anywhere…

And finally, our santolina with its delicate yellow flowers.  These guys are so great in gardens, just really stand up to weather and slowly, slowly, slowly get bigger. 

I’m always so excited to see this garden through the seasons as it has been changing and growing.  And the kids always shout at me and ask me what I see going on that is new.  It’s great to see them really connected with the space and I’m looking forward to working with this program to make it even stronger. 

5 thoughts on “>Preschool garden shows off summer glory

  1. >what is it about kids and caterpillars? i was at a big box store and there were scads of them all over the dill and fennel with a crowd of kids watching raptly as the 'pillars mowed that stuff down! the garden is so beautiful, those children are lucky little ducks!

  2. >How do you keep the squash borer beetles from your zucchini? I think that's what kills mine every year, just wilts and dies in a day or two. I'd love any tips.

  3. >Bridget, I try to be very diligent early on with looking for the borer eggs- very tiny and brown usually at the base of the plant or under the leaves. I have even covered the plants with row cover until the flowers start to come out- at that point uncover to allow bees in to pollinate. I sprinkle bT powder at the base of the plants to kill any caterpillars that chew down there and this year, I used cupcake wrappers and wrapped them around the base to discourage egg laying there. I've also resigned myself to just get what I can out of the plants fast and then replant in July or August if I lose some plants. All of this sounds crazy, but it's not that much work and it gets me a good crop at least for a month or two.

Leave a Reply

